PDA

View Full Version : If you would educate me on entry level DSLR cameras.

CXTKRS1
05-06-2010, 03:44 PM
I have been saving up on my entertainment budget and I have decided instead of mods for the car it is time to enter the DSLR world. I'm not really partial to any brand but I have had great experience with Canon and I have never used a Nikon camera before of any kind. I have been doing some reading on the Rebel T1i and I was wondering does any own this camera and if so what are your opinions of it? I'm pretty good with electronics but I do not need a top end professional camera so I'm not sure if I should go for the T1i or downgrade to the XS or maybe a Nikon model?

x2cafn8dx
05-06-2010, 07:06 PM
I have heard Nikons are good. I LOVE me some Canons though. I had an S2 IS a few years ago.. great camera.. 5 megapixel 12x optical zoom. I bought it about 5 years ago.

There are two Canon Cameras I am interested in now. Both of which are Powershots and do not require lenses.

This is the first:
PowerShot SX1 IS - $599.99 Suggested Retail
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&fcategoryid=144&modelid=18301#ModelDetailAct

FEATURES:

Full HD (1920 x 1080 pixels at 30 fps) movie mode plus HDMI output for easy playback of video and photos on your HDTV.

The first PowerShot camera to feature a 10.0 Megapixel Canon CMOS sensor for superb image quality.

28mm wide-angle 20x Optical Zoom lens with Optical Image Stabilizer.

Large 2.8-inch Vari-angle LCD widescreen for flexible viewing at nearly every angle, plus a viewfinder for more shooting options.

Full range of shooting and recording modes including RAW + JPEG for the ultimate creative control.

DIGIC 4 Image Processor has evolved Face Detection Technology that tracks the faces of moving subjects and lets the shooter enter the frame seamlessly with the Face Detection Self-timer.

With 25 Shooting Modes including 12 Special Scene Modes, you're ready for whatever shot comes your way.